Impalement survivor conquers Comrades

Daniel de Wet and his wife Lizl on day 15 of his 19-day recovery at Netcare Milpark Hospital. A metal industrial crowbar impaled Mr De Wet in a freak accident on a gold mine in the area.

De Wet, a member of the Carletonville Harriers Marathon Club completed the gruelling 89 km down run from Pietermaritzburg to Durban in a time of 11:30:37. Race entries are capped at 20 000.
Other members of the club who completed the Comrades are Annalisa Freese, in a time of 10:25:32, Conrad Freese (10:25:32), Cornel Metcalfe (10:25:32), David Lekawa (10:09:20), Dewit Ezekiel Pholo (8:31:59), Duncan De Haas (10:23:41), Elias Matsinhe (10:46:18), Johan Bekker (9:55:32), Kagiso Basiame (9:37:38), Mokhethinyane Elisha Molapo (9:24:39), Mpoku Given Maepa (9:24:53), Nduduzo Mabaso (10:57:38), Njabulo Siphosakhe Shandu (7:56:33), Petrus Lourens (9:56:08), Phaphama Mtshingila (8:45:59), Schaney De Haas (11:44:31), Sipho Mbakaca (10:33:59) and Sonnyboy Seleko (7:43:48).
Michael Cuypers, who recently competed in the Ironman Triathlon in Port Elizabeth, was the first member of the Fochville Marathon Club to cross the finish line in a time of 10:26:44.
Other Fochville runners who completed the Comrades were Ian Du Plessis (11:01:52), Olebile Pule (12:35:37), Quintus Vaughn Dippenaar (11:11:28), Stanley Selamolela (11:39:17) and Ursula Dippenaar (11:11:28).
Runners who completed the Comrades in a time between 7 hours and 30 minutes and 9 hours received Bill Rowan medals. Those who completed the race in times ranging from 9 hours to 11 hours got bronze medals. The runners who took between 11 and 12 hours to complete the Comrades, were awarded Vic Clapham medals.

Latest News


Parys GazettePotchefstroom HeraldSedibeng SterVaal Weekblad